Iowa Down Payment and Homeownership Assistance

Every state has down payment or homeownership assistance programs; some states have both. The programs are designed to provide affordable housing opportunities to homebuyers who might not ordinarily be able to afford a house.

Each program can have their own income and eligibility requirements but primarily the programs are available for first-time homebuyers or low-income families.

Keep in mind if you had no ownership in a principal residence in the previous 3 years, you are also considered a first-time homebuyer even if you owned a home prior to that 3-year period.

The programs are not usually administered directly through the State. Instead, they are nonprofit based and handled through a third party agency. The list below will start you on your search but be sure to confirm the program is currently available.


Statewide and Regional Programs

Iowa Finance Authority statewide homebuyer programs – the Iowa Finance Authority offers several homebuying assistanct programs which are available wherever you live in the State of Iowa
Area 15 Regional Planning Commission – Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren, Wapello, and Wayne Counties
Community Opportunities, Inc. – Calhoun, Crawford, Dallas, Greene, Guthrie, Ida, Sac counties
East Central Iowa Council of Governments – Benton, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Washington counties
Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments – Bremmer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, and Grundy counties
Southern Iowa Council of Governments – Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Taylor and Union counties
Southwest Iowa Planning Council – Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, and Shelby counties
Iowa Affiliates of Habitat for Humanity – through volunteer labor, builds and rehabilitates houses for families in need
U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Housing – homebuyer programs in rural communities
Homeowner education programs – learn how to purchase and maintain a home of your own
Community contacts – find out if your community offers homeownership assistance

Local Programs

Council Bluffs
United Neighbors

Des Moines
Iowa City:
City of Iowa City

Greater Iowa City Housing Fellowship
1700S 1st Ave, Suite 25B
Iowa City, IA
(319) 358-9212

Sioux City
Operation Threshold

Wright County